top of page
Search
  • chunter05

Review of Shades of Magic

For this week’s review I was ready to take a break from nonfiction. I enjoy learning about the lives and experiences of those who have explored undocumented territories and interestingly enough, the fantasy genre can actually provide a similar experience if well written. The reader has the opportunity to explore new worlds through the eyes of the book’s characters. Of course, it is not factual but this only lends to the levity (and consequently, the enjoyment of the read.

“A Gathering of Shadows” was my selection and can be found and checked out at our local library. Here is my review of V.S. Schwab’s first book in her series, Shades of Magic (My reviews will never contain spoilers):


Excellent fantasy! I often find myself starting books of this genre only to become quickly bored with the predictable plot and/or two dimensional characters. Schwab kept me reading! The characters and storyline were not only credible but also incredibly intriguing! The only reason for four stars rather than five were the very few plot holes hastily and off highhandedly explained in the very end of the book. Still, I am very much looking forward to reading her second book in this series!


Submitted by Tracy Sission.


3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page